President Trump appointed current Commissioner James Danly as Chairman of the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission.  Danly’s tenure with FERC began in 2017, serving as general counsel to the Commission, and subsequently beginning a term as Commissioner in March of this year.  Danly replaces Neil Chatterjee, who will remain as a Commissioner of the Commission.  In his remarks thanking Chatterjee for his service as Chairman, Danly commented on Chatterjee’s efforts to advance liquified natural gas terminals, protect competitive markets, revise the Commission’s policies under PURPA, and expedite approvals of critical energy infrastructure.  As Chairman, Chatterjee in recent months led efforts to remove barriers to participation of distributed energy resources in organized markets and to propose a policy statement that would clarify the Commission’s role over state-determined carbon pricing in wholesale markets.  Chatterjee intends to stay on as a Commissioner through the end of his term in June 2021.

FERC’s announcement can be found here.